TAPA History

Ideally, an image and caption concerning the beginnings of the Chapter

Tennessee Chapter Formation

The American Planning Associations (APA) was formed in 1978 through a merger of the American Institute of Planners (AIP) and the American Society of Planning Officials (ASPO). The existing Tennessee chapter of the AIP, with John Preston serving as president, became the first chapter of the Tennessee chapter of the APA in 1979.

Name Tenure
Ambre Torbett, AICP 3-1-2015 - Present
Valerie Birch, AICP 10-1-2012 - 2-28-2015
Karen Hundt, AICP 10-1-2008 - 9-30-2012
Steve Neilson, AICP 10-1-2004 - 9-30-2008
Steve Tocknell, AICP 10-1-2000 - 9-30-2004